Some songs of my year

Now comes the time again to reflect on the year. This includes thinking about (and listening to) the songs that have rocked my world during the last 12 months. So, I made a Spotify playlist. I won’t share the whole playlist here but just pick some of the songs and link them to Youtube videos. Not all the songs are from this year. However, I discovered all the songs on the list this year – and yes, many are in fact from this year.  

Phoenix – Too Young (Cool and sunny, yet nostalgic mood + a funny video)

Waxahatchee – Swan Divde (I listened a lot to the whole album and this is probably my favorite track from it)

Passion Pit – Take A Walk (I saw Passion Pit live as a support act for Weezer in Toronto and this track really blew my mind + cool video)

Yo La Tengo – Is That Enough (Not overwhelmed with their newest album but this track stuck me)

Vampire Weekend – Step (My favorite of their newest output)

Best Coast – I Wanna Know (Simple but great)

The Knife – You Take My Breath Away (Old but gold)

The Promise Ring – Skips A Beat (Over You)

Cloud Nothings – Can’t Stay Awake (One of my big discoveries this year… the band has tons of good songs)

The Mountain Goats – The Best Ever Death Metal Band In Denton (Again an old song but just discovered this year)

Tennis – Traveling (Nice voice and cool vibe)

Deerhunter – Pensacola (Probably the most approachable and upbeat song on their new album, which is quite good)

M.I.A. – Come Walk With Me (M.I.A. at its best again)

Daft Punk – Lose Yourself To Dance (No way around Daft Punk this year and it’s amazingly hard to choose one track.. This is definitely one of the best)

 Killer Mike – Southern Fried (Discovered through Pitchfork)

Chvurches – The Mother We Share (dito)

Wolf Parade – Yulia (One comment on Youtube says: “easily best song of the album, probably best song of the year”… I have to agree with the first part but not with the second one) 

Haim – Forever (Pretty hyped… but pretty good)

Drake – Worst Behavior (FINALLY a song with explicit lyrics)

Air France – Karibien (“Air France, amène moi très très loin”)

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

